Creative Exercise: Making Your Own Rules

IMG_4894

Each week I will offer some ideas on how to exercise your creativity.  If you missed my first post, you can find it here.  This week I turn to the monotony in our lives.  Chores!  I have found a way to make chores more fun.  Don’t misunderstand, if your chores are a 1 on the fun scale where 1 is misery and 10 is jubilation, then these ideas may push your 1 all the way to a 2 or maybe even a 3!

For your creative development, creating games out of common tasks will help you develop a set of logical rules designed to be fair.  You don’t want to set up your game so you always win.  Although it may be great to always win for a time, soon the game won’t be much fun to play.  Rules are important in your creative projects, too.  All writers must come up with a set of rules for the worlds they build.  One such rule may be that our sun gives some aliens superpowers while normal humans have none.  In most cases these rules, especially when different from our own world, need to be much more complex.  The same need for rules applies for art and music.  The rules help your audience make sense of the piece.  Making up games requires making up rules which will help you do the same in your creative projects.

Turn Your Chores into Games

Personally, my mind thinks of things numerically so I turn many of my chores into games relating to numbers and time.  Perhaps you are more artistically or musically inclined, so your games may consist of creating patterns, images or rhythms.

Emptying the Dishwasher

I’m not a fan of this tedious chore.  Since it is such a small project it shouldn’t be an issue, yet I feel the need to make it just a bit more entertaining by turning it into a game.  If the dishwasher is clean in the morning, I start the coffee maker and challenge myself to have it emptied and any dirty dishes waiting in the sink loaded before the coffee maker drips the last drop of hot water through the filter.  If I’m not making a pot, I choose another timing method to time my emptying prowess such as the microwave countdown while my lunch warms, or guessing the number of steps I need to take to finish the job.  Sometimes I make this more challenging by requiring that I empty each cupboard or drawer’s residents in order.  Feel free to change the rules each time you play the game.  Sometimes you need to make it easier if you need a “win” that day, while other days you may revel in winning a more difficult challenge.

Mowing the lawn

For me, this chore is simply a counting game but for others creating a work of lawn art may be a more ambitious, creative option.

The simplest game I play is guessing the number of rows I need to mow before I reach an object like a tree, drain or flowerbed which requires a course change.  If I am feeling bold, I may even guess how many rows the entire backyard will take, allowing for two guess adjustments before I reach the halfway point.  (Yes, I have thought about this way too much, but the rules I come up with need to be creative and logical to make the game worth playing).  If I gave myself a single guess the game would be over immediately other than the monotony of counting rows.  By giving myself guess adjustments I keep my mind in the game as I am continuously reassessing my row overlap, pattern and remaining distance while still counting each row.

To create lawn art you will need to think of your lawn like a giant Etch-A-Sketch, planning out your image, realistic or abstract from the beginning.  If I am feeling creative I end up with a different mowing pattern than rows or diagonals, but based on my childhood experiences with the Etch-A-Sketch, I think it is best for me to stick with patterns rather than attempt an actual picture.  If you do play this version of the game, I would love to see a picture.

Using these games keeps my mind focused on the task at hand.  Without the games, my mind wanders to worries and to do items putting me in an anxious mood when the task is complete.  There is plenty of time in the day for worries and other tasks, so taking this break and playing the game relaxes me.  Sure, the pressure is on to beat that coffee maker to the finish, but we could all use a little challenge to keep ourselves sharp.  Who knows, perhaps the portrait of your dog that you have expertly mowed into the front lawn will be the hit of the neighborhood!

These are just two of the regular chores I have turned into games.  What ideas do you have for making your chores more entertaining.

This exercise helps with: Creative Thinking, Creative Solutions, Problem Solving, Logic

Leave a Reply

